Tay Grin to battle AKA, Nasty C for 2017 AFRIMA

Nominated for Southern Africa 'Best Male' artist: Tay Grin

Malawian music superstar Tay Grin is nominated for the 2017 All African Music Awards (AFRIMA) and is facing stiff competition from top class in the region.

Nominated for Southern Africa Best Male artist, the Nyau King is in the race with some of South Africa’s top-selling Hip Hop artists AKA, Nasty C, Emtee; Jazz icons Hugh Masekela and Nduduzo Makhathini, as well as Zimbabwe’s artist of the moment Jah Prayzah.

The TOLA star is the only Malawian artist nominated for the regional category in the 2017 AFRIMAs, dominated by West African country, Nigeria’s artists.

From the best West African male and female categories, Nigerian acts received ten nods from a total 17 nominations.

According to the awards producers, entries for this year’s edition were in excess of four thousand and were prone by 13 judges representing the different regions on the black continent.

The full list of nominees for the 2017 AFRIMAs will be released over the next few days.

Public voting for the nominees in the different categories of the awards will open on August 21, 2017 on www.afrima.org.

In partnership with the AUC, A range of rich and exhilarating events for The AFRIMA 2017 such as the Music Village and the AFRIMA Music Business Summit are slated on November 10-12, 2017 and will be broadcast across 84 countries around the world.

This is the full list of the regional categories:

Central Africa (Best Female)

  • Montess – Love Witta Gun Man (Cameroon)
  • Reniss – Mamamuh (Cameroon)
  • Ewube – Fall On You (Cameroon)
  • Nsoki – Africa Unite ft DJ Maphorisa & Paulo Alves (Angola)
  • Daphne – Calee (Cameroon)
  • Mimie – Dance Fi You (Cameroon)
  • Merveilee – Toi (Cameroon)
  • Bussine – All Africa Party (Gabon)

Central Africa (Best Male)

  • Maitre Gims – Tout Donner (DRC)
  • Hiro – Ton Pied, Mon Pied ft Chidinma (DRC)
  • Big Nelo – O Legado Da Lenda (Angola)
  • Locko – Supporter ft Mr Leo (Cameroon)
  • Fally Ipupa – Eleko Oyo (DRC)
  • Jovie – Ou Meme (Cameroon)
  • Anselmo Ralph – Casas Comigo (Angola)
  • Ke Black – Bazardee (DRC)

East Africa (Best Female)

  • Juliana Kanyamozi – I Am Still Here (Uganda)
  • Chess Nthusi – Give It to You (Kenya)
  • Victoria Kimani – Giving You ft Sarkodie (Kenya)
  • Lady Jaydee – Sawa Na Wao (Tanzania)
  • Vanessa Mdee – Cash Madam (Tanzania)
  • Wayna Wondersonn – You Are Not Alone (Ethiopia)
  • Nandy – One Day (Tanzania)

East Africa (Best Male)

  • Diamond Platnumz – Eneka (Tanzania)
  • Sinishaw Legesse – Selam Ethiopia (Ethiopia)
  • Qritiqual – Malika (Kenya)
  • Kibrom Birhane – Eskista ft Nassmbu Burasa (Ethiopia)
  • Henok & Mehari Brothers – Firkir Yishala (Ethiopia)
  • Alikiba – Aje ft MI Abaga (Tanzania)
  • Octopizzo – TBT (Kenya)
  • Mure K.E – Excuse my Language (Kenya)

Southern Africa (Best Female)

  • Sally Boss Madam – Bimbim ft Busiswa (Namibia)
  • Babes Wodumo – Family ft Maphorisa & Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
  • Busiswa – Inggongo (South Africa)
  • Lebo Segobela – Lion of Judah (South Africa)
  • Amanda Black – Amazulu (South Africa)
  • Ru – Down (Zimbabwe)
  • Thandiswa – Nontsokolo (South Africa)

 Southern Africa (Best Male)

  • Hugh Masekela – Shango (South Africa)
  • AKA – The World is Yours (South Africa)
  • Nasty C – Down South ft Seyi Shay & Ma E (South Africa)
  • Tay Grin – Tola ft Vanessa Mdee (Malawi)
  • Emtee – We Up (South Africa)
  • Jah Prayzah – Watora Mari ft Diamond Platnumz (Zimbabwe)
  • Nduduzo Makhathini – Igagu (South Africa)

 West Africa (Best Female)

  • Oumou Sangare – Yere Faga ft Tony Allen (Mali)
  • Aramide – Why So Serious (Nigeria)
  • Viviane Chidid – Lon Kelen (Senegal)
  • Yemi Alade – Tumbum (Nigeria)
  • Seyi Shay – Yolo Yolo (Nigeria)
  • Tiwa Savage – All Over (Nigeria)
  • Becca – Na Wash ft Patoranking (Ghana)
  • Zeynab – Noctambule ft Shadow Chris (Benin)

 West Africa (Best Male)

  • Runtown – Mad Over You (Nigeria)
  • Sarkodie – Pain Killer (Ghana)
  • Wizkid – Come Closer ft Drake (Nigeria)
  • DJ Arafat – Agbangnan (Ivory Coast)
  • Mr Eazi – Leg Over (Nigeria)
  • MHD – La Puissnace (Guinea)
  • YCee – Juice (Nigeria)
  • Davido – Fall (Nigeria)
  • Tekno – Rara (Nigeria)

North Africa (Best Female)

  • Ibitssam Tiskat – Menak Wla Meni (Morocco)
  • Zaho – Tant De Choses (Algeria)
  • Assma Lmnawar –  3ndou Zine (Morocco)
  • Sherine – Koul Maghani (Egypt)
  • Zina Daoudia – Sayidati (Morocco)
  • Cheba Maria – Kheltini (Algeria)

North Africa (Best Male)

  • Fnaire – Ngol Mali (Morocco)
  • Shayfeen – Wach Kayn Wader (Morocco)
  • French Montana – Unforgettable (Morocco)
  • Balti – Wela la (Tunisia)
  • Tasmer Hosny – Ya Maley 3eny (Egypt)
  • L’algerino – Les Monetess (Algeria)
  • Saad Lmjarred – Ghaltana (Morocco)
  • Lacrim – Collonel Carillo (Algeria)

You might also like More from author